Tying hair jigs

walleyetracker85

Hey guys I'm brand new at tackle craft. I would like to learn to tie hair jigs. What are the steps, and what's the necessary equipment? What kind of fur do you guys prefer?

CrappieHappy

Hello, you can visit the tutorial section here :

http://www.jigcraft.com/tutorials/index.html

and the patterns section here:

http://www.jigcraft.com/patterns/index.html

I have used squirrel, raccoon, deer, fox, coyote..... The possibilities are endless.
Necessary equipment would be vise, jigheads, thread, bobbin, choice of hair

you could do thread necks, and not need any chenille for body material:

AF95F470-A35C-4A78-806D-351354CC3931_zpsmrgzhkon.jpg

C4354F71-7635-4BA4-B248-0C3C141299EF_zpse7o1cgzg.jpg

Good luck, let us know if any questions.

AtticaFish

Administrator
Staff member
What style hair jigs are you planning to tie? If you are talking about walleye jigs (assuming that by your username) rabbit zonkers, bucktail, and craft hair/fur are the ones i mainly use. They all have different movement and each require a little different care to make sure they will stay together. If making thread neck styles, i would pick up some Sally Hansen Hard As Nails fingernail polish to coat the threads. Epoxy or head cement could also be used.... but the nail polish is pretty quick and easy to find. Not absolutely necessary but will keep the jigs together longer, especially for toothy critters.

walleyetracker85

Yes, you are correct they will mostly be walleye jigs. Maybe a few crappie jigs. Thanks for the help so far guys!

Jig Man

Use a heavy thread "210" so you can pull it down. And use plenty of cement to keep it together. Lots of good info on you tube tying bucktail jigs also... Welcome to Jig Craft.

walleyetracker85