Well, here we go....

quivira kid

Picked up my first two molds and a few books at Zeiner's this weekend while we were in Wichita for lunch. I got the 1/16-oz production mold and walleye head with eye socket mold. Any tips for a newbie? This is gonna be fun....

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Fatman

Long pants, long sleeves, heavy gloves, boots, eye protection even so far as a full face shield. Drip can and make sure it's dry. Needle nose to grab the sprue to take them out.

What are you using for a melting pot??

Kdog

Well organized work space. Oh Yeah, a tuna can under the spout to catch drippies

Kdog

Something I postedd on another site that may well be worth a read.

We frequently overlook is our safety and the safety of others when pursuing our hobbies. So I thought I would post my general safety guidelines and maybe prevent an injury somewhere. This is by no means complete and is not a guarantee of complete safety but I have been doing this for over 30 years will no ill effects.

1. Safety Glasses, Goggles or even a face sheild are adviseable and a bare minimum is safety glasses, Lead spatters and even smoke from fluxing/cleanining lead can do serious harm and is quite painful. Gloves are adviseable as is a long sleeve shirt. I rarely wear either and frequently wish I had. I do however wear an oversize shop apron that keeps me clean.

2. Ventilation is a must. Exposure to lead and related chemicals is cumulative so you should never breathe the stuff. A minimum is a small fan that blows the toxic stuff away from you and your work area. Outdoors is even better but not always practical.

3. Cleaning/breaking down scrap lead. Always do outdoors and aways from kids and pets.

4. Keep materials dry. Molten lead and water do not mix.

5. Protect your investment such as your bottom pour furnace by fluxing your scrap in a pot or other vessel to prevent oxides from collecting on your pour valve - clean lead will save you countless hours of aggravation.