South Branch of Towanda Creek, PA

jjsjigs

Banned
I hit the South Branch on the advice of fellow flyfishing dirtbagger "TCarr" who stated he saw a few wayward trout in some likely spots.

The flows were very low and crystal clear throughout the main branch and tribs with temp's in the low 40's.
utf-8BSU1HMDAyOTIuanBn.jpg

I sat under the bridge for a few minutes and finished my coffee looking for any activity. My thoughts went to "hucking streamers" but I actually wanted to catch fish today instead of "making a stand" and fishing "my way". I first put on a Hare's Ear thinking that a GP nymph might be the ticket.

As I moved downstream and started paying attention to my surroundings I realized that the Eastern Cased Caddis seemed to be the prominent food source in this creek.
utf-8BSU1HMDAyOTMuanBn.jpg

Cased Caddis littered almost every available rock, nook & cranny, and stick left in or around the water. Hmmm... I'm no rocket scientist but perhaps a cased caddis pattern would work?

utf-8BSU1HMDAyOTUuanBn.jpg

But I didn't have any cased caddis with me, so a longer Godfather Emerger had to do in a pinch!

utf-8BSU1HMDAyOTQuanBn.jpg

This spot got me my only hookup of the morning. I had a rainbow on for about 15 seconds but my fly line got wrapped around a rock as the 'bow fought me with spinning jumps. (which was pretty cool!) It was lying just slightly downstream from the exposed rock in the upper right of the pic. It hammered my fly. No subtle take with this fish!