ProTec glow Yellow

Guys I am a rookie at powder paint. I have figured out most of my problems through trial and error and have pm'd a few guys. My problem now is this ProTec glow yellow. I heat my jig heads with a heat gun, and cure in a little toaster oven. I do not use a fluid bed. The problem is this stuff sliding really bad. I have cured at 350 for 15-20 min, that didn't work. Next I went to 325 for 20 min- this works ok on the small 1/32 and under heads still have a couple drip, but no go on 1/16 oz. Looked at ProTec website and found jigs with weed guards can cure at 250 for 25 min. So I tried that it worked ok still had a little movement on the paint. Will curing the paint at 250 for 25 min actually work and make it a durable finish? I have tried different heat times with the heat gun, added equal amount of clear to color paint, and brush tapping this yellow over another color. I have 3 other colors from ProTec, several from Crazy Angler, and several candys and vein paints also and this is the only one that I can't get right. Any help is much appreciated.

Kdog

IMO you are getting your jig too hot before dipping. Get the head hot enough that it colors when dipped. If it comes out shiny, it is too hot starting out

I've tried heating with the heat gun from 4 up to 12 seconds. Any less than 7 seconds I don't get enough paint on to cover even with just color- no clear. The paint melts or turns shiny at 9 seconds.

Kdog

WOW, 7 seconds is my count for my 1/8 oz aspirin heads.

I second plateboater's sentiment about surface contamination. Also, If you recently smoked your mold that can leave some residue on the first group of castings although I have never had a problem as a result it is worth mentioning. You can clean your heads with alcohol or acetone, just be careful. let them dry, then try again.

Is the powder nice and fluffy sometimes when it sits it tends to clump and get very stiff.