Need some help...

CropE

I have decided to go with a Regal Vise...I need help with all other area's of making Crappie Jigs..

Basic stuff like : The best Hook and Jig head to get , the right material to buy for Crappie Jigs..and the Dry paint to get to start out with..

Keep in mind I am not only new to the forum..I am new to making hand tied jigs period..so take it easy on me for dumb questions.

Somebody give me a " basic " list of what to buy to make a complete Crappie jig..I'm not to worried about color or materials at this point , just need to know the basics.

Thanks in advance,

AtticaFish

Administrator
Staff member
Basic stuff......

Tools: Vise, bobbin (to hold your thread) and some scissors.

Jigs: This comes down to preference mostly. For crappie jigs, many like sickle hooks but both styles work. I would suggest using jigs that have no lead barb for holding plastic baits - makes it easier to work with if you are tying straight on the hook shank.

Paint: If you are looking at powder paint, many of the fishing lure supply shops sell some. Need to have something to heat the head (candle, alcohol lamp, heat gun) and also an oven to cure the jigs if you want the paint to last. I have a toaster oven setup in my work area. They cure around 350 for 20 minutes or so, each paint brand might be a little different.

Material: Marabou or strung hackle are probably the most popular. Mallard flank is very popular also. Rabbit zonkers are great for tails. Bucktail or craftfur is also good for long tails. Kip tail is used frequently on smaller/short tail jigs. Each tail material has a little different action to it.

toadfrog