Multi-Color Methods?

FuzzyGrub

Interested in hearing how people are appling their multi-colors. I did my 1st ones and tried an artist brush dip and twist above the jig, and salt shaker. Brush was OK, but wondering about other methods. ie non-air gun ones. ;)

Jig Man

Tried the salt shaker didn't for me... Gonna try the brush deal next. Done the dip method works ok for certain things.... I leave all things multicolor to Radtexan and Crappiehappy...

blt

I use cheap brushes the boss of the house gets me from Wallymartz in the toy/hobby section. Don't remember the name though, it's been a while since I got new ones. I tried the "artist" brushes that come to a point and didn't like those as much as the flatter ones. It does take practice.

Lost Pole

Fuzzy
Im not an expert but yeh just tap the brushes lightly after you have dabbed in powder. Some brushes "grab" powder better than others. Rotate the jig w/ hemostats and tap over it a diff angles to get more precision.
You just want your color to "stick" so that you can go back to your heat for the next color.
Been having a lot of luck blending with a light pearl base.
G'luck!

Adam

SaltyBuckster

I use them little model brushes.Been using the same couple for years.They stay good unless you touch a 4 oz. jig body with one,lol.

FuzzyGrub

I did use a variety fine and round type brushes. One style worked better with the finer protec paint, and another with the heavier HF paint. I was wondering if there were any other techniques, but it sounds like I just need more practice. ;)

Radtexan

Ledhed is your multi color man... Some of the guys do well with the brush,but it doesnt work well for me..Sonny has a dipping method that blends them better than most.

JUNGLEJIM1

I'm a cheap nylon brush tapper,getting 3-4 colors heating only one time. I've been doing it for a few years and have painted thousands with this method. Practice is key, the more you do the easier it becomes.

StumpHunter