Lead pouring question

Nightprowler

I'm fairly new to this hobby and seem to be having a slag problem. The lead melts easily but produces a lot (I mean lots) of slag floating on the top, which I spoon out. I also have to clear the nozzle between pour in the same mold and still yet the doesn't pour consistant. I flux the pot and burn off the residue. Any ideas of what might be going on?

toadfrog

Yes, take all the lead out of the pot. Clean the pot out . The lead is contaminated so it must be cleaned. More than likely was wheel weights at one time. If you have an old cast iron pot put itin that get the lead hot I mean hot as you can , stir it with a seasoned oak dowel rod . This may take a good amount of time to skim off the dross untill you don't get anything but the soot from the smoldering dowel. Then you can put it back in the pot to pour. If you don't know the origin of your lead this is the best way to go any time you start to use it.

Nightprowler

I read about the drop test for lead. About how the sound should be a thud when dropped on concrete. I compared the stuff I was using (which I was told was lead) to some lead I got recently. The stuff I had make a ping noise compared to the thud of the new lead I got. I cleaned the pot and the nozzle of all its contents. Loaded it with the new stuff and what a world of difference. This stuff pours like magic. No clogged nozzle and no slag on top. Thanks for the help.

Hawnjigs

KISS
I learned from Eric G. in CA that "agressively forming" slag is a symptom of zinc contamination. If so this surface slag will keep re-forming as floating silvery sludge no matter how many times the melt is fluxed and skimmed. Best to keep zinc contaminated lead out of a bottom pour pot - I've not tried "toadfrog"'s dowel cleaning method but can say that wax fluxing is unable to remove zinc from lead.