Ice Jigs, Molds, Blades

LedHed

Sponsor
Thnx guys. Swapping out the trebles on the small kastmasters to single hook. The bigger spoons are cabelas getting trebles.
I do the rings with silver solder but was thinking about doing small spoons with flux core solder.
Hays - almost soounds like a butterfly jig.....

ccj - only tips I know (and I am no expert) is to make sure you tin the tip of your soldering iron, clean off all flux, and heat up whatever you are soldering to first - then add solder.

AtticaFish

Administrator
Staff member
Crippler - Those look good to me! Teardrops and pin-mins are in nearly every panfish ice tackle box i do believe. The 'Rocker' looks cool! A few years back i tried to epoxy some hooks to small blades - didn't work too well. :p

LH - Quite the gizmo you have. Guessing that was not the original intended use of that.... that.... well what is it??? haha!! Whats the other thing in the back left with the silver and blue canisters? One more question, promise it's the last: A soldered butt ring will hold the treble on? Would think that would not be very strong, but i also stink at soldering and most of my attempted electrical fixes fall apart on their own. :dodgy:

papaperch

Russ - solder is stronger than you think. I have never had a hook come loose from a pinmin one of mine or a store bought one.

They have held catfish that would not fit thru a 7 inch hole. Had to unhook pinmin while they were still in water. Smart people would just cut line but el cheapo here always wants his lure back.

Most bad soldering jobs are caused by not enough heat. Some not so secrets. Use large enough pencil iron I like 50 watt.
Keep tip clean and tinned. Have a wet rag to to wipe tip on once in awhile. Hold tip on what you are trying to solder. Do not touch tip to solder let material ( in this case the ice blade ) melt the solder.