Go to Walleye jig?

Hawnjigs

KISS
I'm still learning, what's yours? Haven't had the opportunity to test ties much yet, boot tail swim plastics like the Lunker City Shakers on a 1/8 head work OK.

CK3

A couple of my favs are yellow barred rock hackle, thread body,
black or purple head. Also a natural barred rock neck hackle with
a pink or orange head. I see if I can find a pic of them I took a while
back.

eyecrosser

MATCH THE HATCH IF YOU ARE TYING YOUR OWN. IF THROWING PLASTICS I WOULD WOULD SAY WALLEYE ASSASSINS HANDS DOWN.

Hawnjigs

KISS
Interesting, those pin tail plastics don't look like they have much action. What style and weight jig head do you use and is there a special presentation tekneek?

AtticaFish

Administrator
Staff member
Not positive, but thinking the walleye assassin has a paddle style swim bait tail. They have lots of thump.

Hawnjigs said:
...those pin tail plastics don't look like they have much action...

redman

If I was back at a Lake Okoboji in Iowa it would be a Jim Stone during the day and a Mary Kay or Fire Fly at night. I would work the shore line at dusk and dawn. The jig would be a 1/4 oz. Rock -a -Roo head with a # 2 mustad hook. Early spring I would work areas that had sandy bottoms next to rocky points. I would also work every swimming beach I could get to if it had a sandy bottom. Walleyes just love to meet and spawn on these sand bottoms. If these places had a flow of water coming in or going out of the lake that would the first place to start your hunt for a trophy Walleye.

Redman

Hawnjigs

KISS
I know the Fire Fly is a dead simple feather tie on a ball head - are the other two also tie patterns? Interesting that a In-Fisherman walleye authority Doug Stange prefers 1/2 - 3/4 oz. heads with big paddle tail plastics. Quite different from your finesse approach, Redman.

On the mfg. website, there is a 3" pin tail and a 4" paddle tail "turbo" version of the Walleye Assassin.

redman