For those that make jigs and rods for a living

dmm26

I'm contemplating making jigs, flies, and rods as a way to supplement my income.

I'm wondering, does anyone here do this as a full time job?

If so, how did it come about?

How much R&D did you put in before you actually started to sell?

I have previously owned and operated a clothing company that did quite well, so I do know that it takes a lot of perseverance.

On the other hand, sometimes I think " Who do I think I am starting a fishing tackle business?"
Simply because, I don't get out fishing that much, I'm relatively new to the sport, Started actually taking a serious interest in fishing last year. And thirdly, I'm not as in tune with the seasons, fish species, and their habits/food sources as I would like to be.

Thanks for any replies.

Derek

Bucko

I only do it part-time so I can't speak for full-time, but almost went full-time a few years ago. With today's market everything is so mass produced that it's really hard for the small guy to make a go at it. The key I found is to go slow and perfect one thing before moving on to the next. Also the people that buy my stuff aren't the weekend warriors. If people want a custom lure they can't buy of the rack art Wal-Mart they have to pay a custom price. You cannot under sell yourself. My wife was all onboard for me to take this to the next level but with a family to support I couldn't walk away from a 65k job that was guaranteed. I'm not saying that someday after they are of to college I wouldn't take the leap, but for me this isn't the time.

What I do is give some of the guys I know from the tournament circuit some baits and all I ask is their honest feedback. That is my greatest RnD tool I have since most of them are on the water more than myself.

A good friend of mine has been making custom rods for 35 years and will be retiring after this year. He said it never feels like work since its his greatest passion. He's not rich but did very well for himself.