Feather dye question

ACAMS

I have some feathers I need to dye to a burnt orange color .... what is the best way and product to use?

I have googled and came up with everything from acid dye to food coloring.

THANKS for any help/tips

I need feathers like these to be light burnt orange.

barredfeathers.jpg

Kdog

I am by no means an expert and rely on my wife when dying feathers.
She suggests this website
http://www.jacquardproducts.com/acid-dye.html
and specifically the file below
http://www.jacquardproducts.com/ass...ages/dyes/acid/Acid Dye Instructions-2014.pdf

I have dyed hair and feathers with satisfactory results following the instructions. I have found that when doing the final drying, placing feathers between 2 towels and letting them dry slowly gives nice straight feathers but is slow, Forced air drying results in fluffier feathers. Most important think I've learned is feathers, fur etc must be clean before dying. I use dawn dish detergent and aa half gallon plastic jar with lid. If you remember shake-a-pudding you will know exactly what I am talking about. Once clean they neep to be rinsed and rinsed well.

Dye concentration gives your color, length of soak gives the durability as dye (color) needs to fully penetrate the fiber. Truth be told, dyes are stains which is why gloves whould be worn when dying. I have also dyed white feathers using onion skins for a yellow color and fresh red beets for a reddish purple and walnut hulls for a greenish black. Seems to me anything that stains your hands to the point where soap and water will not remove the stain will probably work. But the acid dyes are a lot easier to use and control.
Would love to see your final product.

ACAMS

LOL ..... luckily, I don't have any walnuts. (even tho I remember pealing the hulls and my fingers turning the color I am looking for)

Thanks for all the replies, I think I will try it next week and towel dry because I do want them straight. (gonna be crawfish pincers)

AllenOK