Curing Powder Paint

ScottV

I'm still pretty new at this, but learning as I go. I was having trouble with having too much PP on my heads so that when I cured them, they looked like they had a swollen nose. I might help another "Newbee" by telling the steps I take now that seem to work pretty well. I heat my heads for 3 seconds on each side, while holding them with a hemostat, then dip the eye of the hook in a little bottle of water I have filled to the top. That cools the eye enough that the paint won't stick too bad. After I swish the head through the PP, I hang it by the eye with a piece of wire and place an egg sinker on the hook to keep it upright. Now if the paint wants to run, it runs down the hook where you can clip it off. No more swollen noses! LOL
IMG_5629.jpg
IMG_5630.jpg
I've been curing in the oven at 350 for 20 min..

baitmaster

I have started doing the same thing that Jiggin Joe does. Holding the eye of the hook with the hemostats helped out in the clean alot when doing a single color. With multi colors, I have hfound the hemostat to be in the way.

hhawkins

:jig:I guess I need some reassuance..... When putting your jigs in the oven to cure. the lead doesn't melt in the oven? And do I need to use something else then the oven to cure? You know how I like to cook. Maybe I'm just being wierd :dodgy:

toadfrog

Get you a piece of all thread 1/4 20 , 2 wing nuts, a bunch of washers. fill the all thread with washers leave some space after you put the wing nuts on each end. put on a handle using hard wood dowel . Then hang them in a pop up toaster set to dark brown. Hit the lever when it pops dip your jigs. The size of the jigs and powder container determine how many you can dip at one time. Just a weird little time saver I use before I do the final cure.

ScottV

hhawkins said: