1st Recipe: Smallie Tail

FuzzyGrub

OK, as some of you know, I am new to tying jigs or tying in general. I have tied a few bucktail jigs and muskie trebles prior to this recipe. Please provide constructive feedback. Thx.

While most here will be able to disect how this jig was made, this was written to help other newbies, and to provide feedback on the individual steps.

This is the final product:
SmallieTail01.jpg

This was done with Green Pumpkin and Orange, but you can sub other colors to suit. My purple bucktail is not here yet, but will be my next ones to tie.

Materials Needed:
Base Color: Green Pumpkin / Olive
Hi-light Color: Orange

- 1/4 oz Football Jig, 3/0 Flat Eye Hook (Mustad 32796BLN) Mold: FBB-4H-AFM, Jig Head Powder coated in base color
- Bucktail: Base Color
- Bucktail: Hilight Color
- Thread: Base Color 210D flat waxed thread
- Crystal Flash: Hi-light Color
- Medium Round Rubber: Base Color
- Medium Round Rubber: Hi-light Color
- Wire

OK, lets start :)
SmallieTail02.jpg

Put a base layer of thread between the bait keeper barb and collar:
SmallieTail03.jpg

Tie in a small tuft of hi-light color bucktail on one side:
SmallieTail04.jpg

Tie in a small tuft of hi-light color bucktail on the other side:
SmallieTail05.jpg

Tie in a small tuft of base color bucktail on the bottom:
SmallieTail06.jpg

Tie in a small tuft of base color bucktail on the top:
SmallieTail07.jpg

Tie in a small tuft of base color bucktail on the side:
SmallieTail08.jpg

Tie in a small tuft of base color bucktail on the other side:
SmallieTail09.jpg

Perform final wraps and lay a base layer of thread between collar and head:
SmallieTail10.jpg

Tie in crystal flash with a crisscross pattern:
SmallieTail11.jpg

Add round rubber strips (2.5-3") in both colors, loosly wrap with wire, position rubber:
SmallieTail12.jpg

Cinch wire and cut legs free:
SmallieTail13.jpg
SmallieTail14.jpg

And a few samples:
SmallieTail15.jpg

Fatman

Fuzzy