Weightless Jigging

Hawnjigs

KISS
Right, what? Kinda bypasses the definition of a jig = weight with molded in hook but hey its still a non bait single hook presentation.

Total newbie to bass fishing only got interested last year with opportunity to catch fish in relatively open water. With new friends Bill and Bill taking me to a semi-private bass-bluegill lake WAY out in the boonies had to gear up and learn weedless presentations. After 4 trips settled on weightless 1/0 Gamakatsu EWG worm hooks pinned with cut in half Gulp chartreuse Sinking Minnows and most recent session few days ago caught more and bigger bass than my 2 companions using their go to Beetle Spins and 7" T-rig worms weighted with sliding cone sinkers. Gulp is heavier than standard soft plastic and the weightless stubs I use cast just as far with light braid as their heavier lures on mono. Their long flappy worms are also affected by poor aerodynamics casting into the wind.

Since bluegill are their preferred keep for eating was wondering if a downsize to smallest #2 Gami worm hooks with smaller pins would work? The Bills catch a lot of BG with worms under floats but I'd prefer a non-bait pure jig method. Already tried small open hook jigs and they get instantly snagged on weeds before fish can bite.

So wondering if others have pursued weightless options for presenting plastics or even ties? I consider a float a weight.

Hawnjigs

KISS
Hey, thanks for making me aware of #4 existence. I've been getting my G-hooks from this guy and he's got em in black.

Does red work better?

jiggerjohn