Larger jig hooks

quivira kid

Hey guys, I'm still a newbie at figuring out what hooks I like and need, so I figured I'd just ask.... For my crappie jigs, I'm using exclusively black nickel finish Matzuo sickles. However, I would like a bit stouter model hook to put in some 1/8-oz and up heads for use for walleye, bass, wiper..... fish that may very well straighten a sickle. I'd love black nickel finish if possible. Will be using in ball head and walleye head styles at the moment! Thanks!

Zac

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

duffy

The problem with going to a heavy hook is that they may not fit your mold without some mod's to the mold. When I want a stronger but smaller hook I use the Mustad 32833 NP-BN which are a tempered steelhead hook. They are about .011 larger wire but still fit my smaller molds  and are pretty tough without being overly large or brittle. Price is a fair amount more than the Matzu's though, like .05 VS .13 cents ea but if your only doing a few for yourself & buddies not a real problem. The Eagle claw Lil Nasties would probably work but they are not as firm as the 32833's and are the same wire size as the Matzu's but better quality. I've cast jigs for a while and just started tying and by no means a pro at this so I'm sure someone else will chime in with a bit more experience and maybe more options.

hookup

I've caught pike, musky, walleye, catfish, & citation small mouth bass on matzuo sickles and have never had one straighten

I've even used them in brachish & salt on striper, perch, & pickerel with no problems

I also like the Gamakatzu 114 - a thinner diameter hook than matzuo's, and again, never had one straighten

Hawnjigs

KISS
I use modified Pro-101 molds for 32833, but these two Do-it ballhead molds would save the trouble if you don't mind casting two at a time per size.
http://www.barlowstackle.com/Do-It-Steelhead-Jig-Molds-P336.aspx
32833 short eye legs would be a challenging mod in a walleye head.