I'm confused......

New River Rat

.......the title of the board is "Crappie - Perch". I've always lumped crappie in with sunfish, and a perch, is well, a perch. This is being called a "perch".

544292_10151362621171699_250455532_n.jpg

To me, this is a perch.

YellowPerch.jpg

Am I missing something?

AtticaFish

Administrator
Staff member
Hmmm.... may just have to split the two up as this is not the first time this has been mentioned. When i first set the forum up i put them together in the same board mostly because of the technique i personally use to catch both species is similar after spring when they move out in deeper water. Most of my local lakes are pretty clear water with little structure, the majority of crappie stay down by the bottom in open water until dusk. Drop shot rigs or deep set slip bobbers will catch both species.

I may be wrong, but thinking that first pic you posted is actually a redear? I am no redear expert though. The 2nd pic is a yellow perch - very familiar with those tasty critters. Then there are white perch which are very close in appearance and habits to white bass up on Lake Erie. There seems to be some differences in the name game for 'perch' geographically too...... have heard some from the southwest generalize ALL bluegill/sunfish as perch.

AtticaFish

Administrator
Staff member
Oh yeah, almost forgot.......... used to catch some kind of fish down in Florida at my grandparents retirement community that the locals called Nile Perch. They were big, aggressive and strong fish that loved eating small bluegill. They were a hoot to catch, even on my grandfathers lighter saltwater tackle!

Radtexan

We've givin Russ some grief too about the mighty crappie having to share a board with the perch too ;)

And he's right down here and in the south,perch is kinda catch all phrase.I know its not species correct,but bluegill,redear,shelcrackers,warmouth and the like all seem to get thrown into a "perch" category..

papaperch