Here's a doozie of a first post

dmm26

I'm kind of at a loss as to where to post all my questions, as they are pretty general.
So, here goes.

I would think that the point of tying a jig is that you are not using other bait, worms, minnows, etc, correct?

Can you fish solely with tyed jigs?

As I'm new to fishing in general, I think I may get out to more places for more species in the winter as I don't own a boat. is there a difference in summer and winter jigs?

I'll mainly be fishing for perch, rock bass, goldeye, crappie, walleye, and trout.
So, what jigs work for what species? (I have looked at this and found a ton, just want opinions)

Is it better to go with more natural colours than really flamboyant?

I tired tying a couple 1/64 jigs by hand with no vice and it wasn't impossible, but for consistency I think a vice is necessary. How much should a realistically look at spending?

That's all I can think of for now, although I do have material questions I'll hold off for right now.

Kdog

dmm26 said:
I'm kind of at a loss as to where to post all my questions, as they are pretty general.
So, here goes.

I would think that the point of tying a jig is that you are not using other bait, worms, minnows, etc, correct?

Can you fish solely with tyed jigs?

As I'm new to fishing in general, I think I may get out to more places for more species in the winter as I don't own a boat. is there a difference in summer and winter jigs?

I'll mainly be fishing for perch, rock bass, goldeye, crappie, walleye, and trout.
So, what jigs work for what species? (I have looked at this and found a ton, just want opinions)

Is it better to go with more natural colours than really flamboyant?

I tired tying a couple 1/64 jigs by hand with no vice and it wasn't impossible, but for consistency I think a vice is necessary. How much should a realistically look at spending?

That's all I can think of for now, although I do have material questions I'll hold off for right now.