Dying fox fur

Shoemoo

I bought some arctic fox tails from a couple of different online sources, and the first tail came yesterday. It's really soft and fluffy, with one small area of dark tipped fur. I'm planning on cutting it into sections and dying it.

I've bought some dyed body hair swatches in the past, but I want to try dying my own. It's my favorite hair for crappie jig tails. Got some body fur from an old stole coming soon too. I'm really excited about creating my own colors. The local fly shops have a very limited selection.

This is my first attempt at dying fur. I've heard people use RIT dye or Kool Aid? Has anyone dyed white fur before?

AtticaFish

Administrator
Staff member
Here is a thread - Before & After - that i think might have the info you are looking for.

"Has anyone dyed white fur before?" Are you trying to take a color that is not white and make it white?

Shoemoo

Thanks for the link. Too bad I can't see the image in the first post. Looks like I'll be using RIT.

I'd guess that the tail is about 80% pure white, with most of the rest darkened by scattered black guard hairs. I usually pull the guard hairs out anyway because of their length. There is one very dark spot where the color goes into the under fur. It's about the size of a silver dollar. I know it's very difficult to lighten fur without damaging the hide, so I'll be dying that part a dark color. I'm thinking dark purple or black.

blt

If you are getting into dying, you may want to invest in a bottle of synthrapol to put into the solution. 1/4 teaspoon for about a qt. to 1.5qts of water. It will help the hair/feathers take the dye more evenly. Remember to rinse in warm water when you take out of the dye bath also.
I do hair at 180 degrees. If you let the water boil, I don't know about anything but Bucktail, but it can leave you with a pot of hair soup.

Shoemoo