Craft fur versus calf tail

Palad

I am just getting into tying jigs and my question is can one be used instead of the other? And witch do you use the most?

redman

I use Calf tail don't use craft fur much. Most of the jigs that I tie work better with calf tail. I did a test on the craft fur a few years back. Calf tail was the better producer over the craft fur.

You can use both but IMHO the calf tail is the better material.

Redman

Pup

Palad said:
I am just getting into tying jigs and my question is can one be used instead of the other?

Yes.

Palad said:
And witch do you use the most?

Craft fur.

Now, here's what you need to ask yourself and then tell us. What type of fish are the jigs for?

I tie for bass most of the time, so I use craft fur quite a bit. Kip (calf tail) doesn't have the length I need for the size of the jigs that I tie. Generally, I tie 1/8-ounce jigs and larger. Sometimes, I do tie on 1/16 heads and the craft fur still works there for what I want to achieve. That is, a hair profile that's long enough to provide good movement in microcurrents without being retrieved.

This is a late fall/wintertime/early spring consideration for many bass fishermen who fish their hair jigs extremely slowly along lake and river bottoms. Craft fur works well for that.

Come to think of it, craft fur works fairly well when fish are active too. I find it's best for me to move my rod's tip slightly up and down while retrieving the jig and keeping it off the bottom of the river or lake I'm fishing.

Fatman

I use both, but I do prefer calftail but good stuff is hard to find sometimes. I know a few guys on the fly tying boards that like calftail but don't like tying with it and use calf body hair instead.

redear