core shot no injector

toadfrog

View attachment 1I've only been doing plastics for about six months but I've learned a lot thru experimenting . I think they call this a core shot when there are two colors one inside the other. Look at the tail on this crappie reaper. The first person to guess how I did this will get some in the mail.
CLUE: I did not have a two color injector.

Attachments

• crappie reaper with core in tail..jpg
    crappie reaper with core in tail..jpg
    228 KB · Views: 88

hhawkins

Those are pretty awsome! You didn't have a straight pen or a piece of wire with color on it did you? Or maybe an eye dropper. I can't think of how, but then again I'm just starting out and have not worked with plastics except when I'm fishing.

toadfrog

Hey Heather , close enough you win! As we all know you add color to plastic. Up until now the only way to define the color to specific parts of the body was to pour or inject it seperately. Since color is added to heated plastic I deduced that it could be done any time while the plastic was hot for instance in the mold. I took a tooth pick barly dipped it in the plastic dye , drew a light line in each cavity of one side of the mold then I closed it and shot the bait . P.M. your address I'll send you some plastics.

Nice effect. Does it pick up all the color from the mold or is there a residue left over? You might be able to pour in the grove one color and then close it and shoot the mold. I did my 6 inch rattles snakes that way and it turned out good.

toadfrog

There is residue left. It cleans easily with mineral oil . Much to my woe I can't seem to make the effect work with larger molds or open pour. I think the mold is going to have to be warm and the plastic is going to have to be at its maximum heat. If that dosen't work it means I just got lucky once.